

Local Thriving Communities Joint Coordinating Committee Communiqué – No.1

17 March 2021 - Yarrabah

Elverina Johnson, a Gunggandji Traditional Owner, provided a Welcome to Country. Mayor Ross Andrews Provided an Acknowledgment of Country and welcomed visitors to the Local Thriving Communities Joint Coordinating Committee (JCC) meeting in Yarrabah. As well as the formal JCC meeting, the Mayor and CEO of Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council (YASC), YASC Councillors and members of the Yarrabah Leaders Forum (YLF) participated in a discussion with the JCC. The Committee heard about the history and background of the YLF and existing strengths in community knowledge and leadership. The JCC listened to a presentation on how local decision-making and government engagement could work for Yarrabah including discussion of key community issues.

The Committee noted COVID-19 restrictions had prevented JCC meetings occurring in community in 2020 and expressed appreciation for the opportunity to meet in one of Queensland's remote and discrete communities.

The Committee noted that holding the meeting in Yarrabah provided a valuable opportunity for government representatives to engage with community, listen to local priorities and for this perspective to inform progress of LTC implementation. Two further JCC meetings will be held in communities this year.

The Committee agreed that the next JCC meeting to be held in community will be held in Woorabinda on 14 July 2021.

LTC Implementation

The Committee welcomed Ms Zhanae Conway-Dodd as a guest to the JCC. Ms Conway-Dodd has been nominated as a JCC community representative to ensure that a youth perspective informs implementation and oversight of the LTC reform.

The Committee noted LTC community progress including updates on the *Pathway to Local Decision Making* where existing leadership structures are embraced as each community determines for itself what a Local Decision Making Body (LDMB) might look like for its community. The Committee noted Councils are a key component of LDMBs and the LTC reform does not seek to undermine their authority; rather it seeks to enhance their role in community through greater authority in decision-making about government services.

The Committee noted the need to share outcomes of JCC meetings with communities via a meeting communique, including with Mayors of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Councils.

The Committee noted government's efforts to improve coordination and collaboration of engagement in remote and discrete Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and acknowledged many agencies are undertaking co-design of services with communities in line with the LTC principles. This



framework supports sustainable improvements to the way decisions about Queensland Government investment and service delivery are made. The Committee noted the need for government agencies to provide the relevant background, data and policy objectives when engaging with communities on decisions about service design and delivery.

The Committee noted that whole-of-government development of actions under the LTC Implementation Plan's key priority areas is continuing. Two leading priorities have emerged as a result of ongoing consultation with government and community stakeholders: whole-of-government coordination and collaboration; and effective investment mapping. The Committee noted it is essential for activity in these key areas to continue ahead of a formal LTC Action Plan being finalised so that activity in government can continue and compliment activity occurring within community.

LTC Joint Coordinating Committee Meeting 17 March 2021 Attendance

Attendees	Dr Chris Sarra (Co- Chair)	Director-General, Department of Seniors, Disability Services and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships
	Ms Kelly Barclay (Co- Chair)	Community representative
	Mr Michael Bond	Community representative
	Ms Kate Connors	Deputy Director-General, Department of Children, Youth Justice and Multicultural Affairs
	Mr Drew Ellem	Head, Policy and Performance, Queensland Treasury
	Ms Trish Woolley	Deputy Director-General, Department of Communities, Housing and Digital Economy
	Ms Jennifer Lang	Deputy Director-General, Justice Services, Department of Justice and Attorney-General
	Mr Paul Taylor	Deputy Commissioner, Queensland Police Service
	Ms Natalie Wilde	Deputy Director-General, Department of State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning
	Mr Robert Wilmett (arriving 12.30pm)	National Indigenous Australians Agency, Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet
	Mr Leon Proud	Assistant Director-General, State Schools – Indigenous Education, Department of Education (Proxy for Mr Peter Kelly)
	Ms Kyla Hayden	Senior Director, Social Policy, Department of the Premier and Cabinet (Proxy for Mr Mark Cridland)
	Ms Noeleen Mulley	Executive Director, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health, Cape and Torres HHS, Queensland Health (Proxy for Ms Haylene Grogan)
	Ms Michelle Deshong	Community representative
Apologies	Ms Joann Schmider	Community representative

	Mayor Kyle Yanner	Mayor, Mornington Shire Council	
	Mayor Patricia Yusia	Mayor, Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council	
	Mr Peter Kelly	Deputy Director-General, State Schools, Department of Education	
	Mr Mark Cridland	Deputy Director-General, Policy, Department of the Premier and Cabinet	
	Ms Haylene Grogan	Chief Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Officer, Deputy Director-General, Queensland Health	
	Ms Susan Sewter	Community representative	
Guests	Mayor Mislam Sam Mayor, Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council		
	Mayor Josh Weazel Mayor, Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council		
	Mayor Janita Motton, Mayor, Napranum Aboriginal Shire Council		
	Ms Zhanae Conway-Dodd Youth representative nominee		
Other attendees	Kathy Parton, Ian Mackie, Tim Fell, Terri Page, Charlotte Young, Angelene Thistleton, Christy Anderson and Lara Biggs, Department of Seniors, Disability Services and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships		
	Mr Stephen Tillett Senior Operations Manager (Cairns Cluster), Department of Justice and Attorney-General		
	Mr Kade Brindell, Director, Strategy and Performance, Department of Communities, Housing and Digital Economy		
	Mr Stephen Bell Acting Regional Director, Far North Queensland Region, Department of Education		
	Mr Owen Hitchings Principal Advisor, North Region, Department of State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning		
	Ms Tracy Harding Regional Director, Department of Children, Youth Justice and Multicultural Affairs		