Category C - FNQ and NQ monsoon trough Community Development Officers

An initiative jointly funded under the Commonwealth/State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements.

Eight local Councils will share in $4,612,888 to deliver Community Development Officer Services between 2019 and 2021 to 10 local government areas (LGA's) significantly impacted by the FNQ & NQ Monsoon Trough. The successful Councils will support community-led initiatives, facilitate linkages and partnerships between groups, and support and enable recovery and resilience planning to build upon the strengths and capabilities of monsoon-affected communities.

Funding for the Community Development Officer program is available under jointly funded Commonwealth-Queensland Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) through Category C Community Recovery Funds (CRF). This funding is administered through the Queensland Government.

Details of the successful suppliers are as follows:

  • Carpentaria Shire Council - Carpentaria LGA
  • Cloncurry Shire Council - Cloncurry and Burke LGA's
  • Cook Shire Council - Cook, Douglas and Wujal Wujal LGA's
  • Flinders Shire Council - Flinders LGA
  • McKinlay Shire Council - McKinlay LGA
  • Richmond Shire Council - Richmond LGA
  • Townsville City Council - Townsville LGA (two Community Development Officers), and
  • Winton Shire Council - Winton LGA

Services commence from 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2021, with Carpentaria Community Development Officer Service commencing from 1 October 2019.