Queensland Social Cohesion Implementation Committee

In June 2016, the Queensland Government established the Queensland Social Cohesion Implementation Committee (QSCIC) as a step towards enhancing social cohesion in our communities.

The Committee provides advice to the Queensland Government and helps shape social cohesion initiatives that:

  • strengthen community cohesion and resilience
  • reduce social marginalisation and economic exclusion
  • address antisocial behaviour and behaviour that may lead to violence or physical harm to others.

In 2016 the Committee oversaw the development of the Cohesive Communities: an action plan for Queensland 2016-18. In 2019 the Committee worked with the former Department of Communities, Disability Services and Seniors to develop the Thriving Cohesive Communities: Action Plan for Queensland 2019-21 (Stage 2).

Read the Committee's Terms of Reference (PDF, 291 KB) Terms of Reference (DOCX, 19 KB).

Committee membership

QSCIC members have been appointed by the Premier and contribute independent advice and diverse life experiences to the Committee’s work.

These include:

  • growing up in a rural or regional community or settling in one as a recent migrant
  • leading and working in human service organisations
  • being active in a faith community
  • being Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander
  • establishing and working in business
  • working in the areas of research, youth support, education and advocacy.

At March 2020, the membership of the Committee comprises:

  • Mr Scott Stewart MP (Chair)
  • Professor Lesley Chenoweth AO (Deputy Chair)
  • Mrs Josephine Aufai
  • Ms Gail Ker OAM
  • Mr Fahim Khondaker
  • Miss Prudence Melom
  • Ms Tammy Wallace
  • Mr Petero Civoniceva

A number of government department representatives attend Committee meetings as observers.